Martyna Kosecka winner of the 5-Minute Opera Competition

The finals of the Biennale competition for the best five-minute opera were held last night. The compositions by ten finalists were premiered with great care by the musicians of the Festival ensemble, soprano Monika Cerovèec and baritone Krešimir Stražanac conducted by Saša Britviæ. The winner was decided by a four-member composer jury consisting of Zoran Juraniæ, Daniel Matej, Ðuro Živkoviæ and Krešimir Seletkoviæ, while the audience – who marked their favorites on the ballots – had the equal-value fifth vote. Seven out of ten authors arrived to Zagreb for the final rehearsals and premieres of their works.

After counting and summing the votes, the overflowing auditorium of the HGZ proved to be the deciding vote as most of the listeners liked the five-minute opera Kochaway by the Polish composer Martyna Kosecka. The winner won the commission of the opera for the 29th Music Biennale Zagreb to be held in 2017. Unfortunately, Kosecka did not come to Zagreb, as well as the runner-up Steven Prengels from Belgium. The high quality of all premiered works is additionally proven by the fact that the third place, with equal number of votes, went to two composers – Lina Tonia from Greece and Kevin Juillerat from Switzerland. The second place wins the author the performance of their composition for orchestra or ensemble, and the third place the performance of a composition for soloist at the next Music Biennale Zagreb.

Congratulations to the winners, laureates and all the finalists!